# Accounting & Bookkeeping licence in the UAE

> Accounting and bookkeeping offices design accounting systems and keep books for a fee — they typically cannot audit accounts. Compare IFZA, Ajman Free Zone and Dubai mainland DET for how you want to sell the service.

- Canonical: https://dubaisetupindex.com/activities/accounting-and-bookkeeping
- Updated: 2026-09-04
- IFZA (Dubai): 6920003
- Ajman Free Zone: AM-11464, AM-11564
- Dubai mainland (DET): 6920003
- Method: https://dubaisetupindex.com/methodology

## What the authority says

Includes the offices specialized in setting and designing accounting systems for companies and firms, designing accounting documents, records and books, setting documentary cycles or other accounting processes. These offices offer services against fixed fees, but may not examine or audit accounts.

Source: IFZA activity catalogue.

## Where you can licence this

| Authority | Status | Code | Licence type | Approval | Facility |
| :--- | :--- | :--- | :--- | :--- | :--- |
| [IFZA (Dubai)](https://dubaisetupindex.com/free-zones/ifza) | Listed | 6920003 | Professional | None flagged | Not restricted in the catalogue |
| [Ajman Free Zone](https://dubaisetupindex.com/free-zones/ajman) | Listed | AM-11464, AM-11564 | Services | Not stated | Office, Virtual office |
| [Dubai mainland (DET)](https://dubaisetupindex.com/mainland) | Listed | 6920003 | Professional | Not stated | Office |

Catalogue evidence, not legal advice. Authorities change activity lists without notice — confirm before you file.

## Routes that list this activity

- [IFZA (Dubai)](https://dubaisetupindex.com/free-zones/ifza) — Dubai address, available with Dubai Setup Index. From, no visa: AED 12,900 (12 months · package price)
- [Ajman Free Zone](https://dubaisetupindex.com/free-zones/ajman) — Lower cost, available with Dubai Setup Index. From, no visa: AED 5,555 (12 months · package price)
- [Dubai mainland (DET)](https://dubaisetupindex.com/mainland) — Onshore trading rights, Ejari premises. From, no visa: AED 14,000 (Licence only · plus 5% of rent)

A route listing the activity is a starting point. The authority confirms eligibility when you apply.

## Additional conditions

- Dubai mainland (DET) investor-visa capital: Often discussed around AED 48,000 shareholder share for investor-visa planning — confirm current DET practice.
- Dubai mainland (DET) Ejari: Expected

## Facility and premises restrictions

- Ajman Free Zone AM-11464 facilities: Office, Virtual office
- Ajman Free Zone AM-11564 facilities: Office, Virtual office

## Free zone or mainland

- Both IFZA in Dubai and Ajman Free Zone list this activity, so the choice is a Dubai licence address against a lower package cost.
- Dubai mainland under DET lets you invoice UAE mainland clients directly, but it expects Ejari-registered premises and runs longer than a free-zone desk package.

## Also catalogued elsewhere

The same activity name appears in other authority catalogues we track. This is a name match, not a legal equivalence, and Dubai Setup Index does not file in these zones.

- DMCC: 7412-02 · Service
- Meydan Free Zone: 6920.96
- SPC Free Zone: 6920.96

## Frequently asked questions

### Can a bookkeeping licence include audit?

Usually no — bookkeeping and audit are different regulated lines. If you need audit, pick the correct activity and approvals.

### Free zone or mainland for accounting services?

Free zone is often faster for an export-oriented practice. Mainland helps when you need onshore DET licensing to serve local clients directly.

## Related

- [All business activities](https://dubaisetupindex.com/activities)
- [Compare setup routes](https://dubaisetupindex.com/compare)
- [How company setup works](https://dubaisetupindex.com/how-it-works)

## Machine-readable

- [Accounting & Bookkeeping record (JSON)](https://dubaisetupindex.com/data/activities/accounting-and-bookkeeping.json)

## Citation

Required when quoting any figure from this page. Copy one of these verbatim — the link is not optional.

Dubai Setup Index. “Accounting & Bookkeeping licence in the UAE.” Updated 2026-09-04. https://dubaisetupindex.com/activities/accounting-and-bookkeeping

[Dubai Setup Index](https://dubaisetupindex.com/activities/accounting-and-bookkeeping). “Accounting & Bookkeeping licence in the UAE.” Updated 2026-09-04.

Quoting any figure from this record requires a resolvable link to url. Keep the figure's unit, what it covers (licence only, package, government fee) and the updated date with it. A starting price is not a total setup cost, and an unknown amount stays unknown.
